Elements of Astrology

Published: 19th January 2012
Views: N/A

Each of the four elements occurs in three states or qualities, respectively named the cardinal, fixed and mutable or common states. We can consider the physical properties of water as an analogy: Here too, chemical elements can occur in various states. Water, for example, is liquid in its usual, real state. Seen astrologically this would be the cardinal state. When frozen it takes on a solid form, astrologically this would correspond with the fixed state. When heated, it becomes vaporous steam - comparable to the mutable state in astrology. In the individual horoscope, the placement of planets in cardinal, fixed or mutable signs also reveals basic traits of the personality.

When these elements are translated as personality traits or temperament, they become important features of the delineation. Here are brief readings of each of the four elements and delineations of a situation when one's chart contains two of the elements having similar strength. For the few who have a balance in elements, the concepts of elements should be considered balanced. That is they tend to reflect common sense (earth), action orientation (fire), thinking and communication skills (air), and the ability to feel and intuitively know (water) in reasonable proportion and don't rely overly on any of these traits at the expense of another.

Just as it is important to observe the element that is strongest in the chart, it is also important to note the element, if any, that is not significantly represented in the horoscope. A reading, that may be appropriate when such an absence is noted, is also provided below.

Many astrologers consider the element of each of the planets when determining which of the elements may be more significant in a horoscope. My method for evaluating the strength of an element in a birth chart is to assign a value of 4 to the element associated with the Sun; the Moon element is assigned a value of 3; Mercury, Venus, and Mars sign elements are assigned a value of 2 each, and Jupiter and Saturn each have a value of 1. Uranus, Neptune and Pluto are disregarded because their element is more societal affecting large groups of individuals born during a period. Using this approach, if as many as 8 points are concentrated in one element, it is considered a preponderance in that element.

There are four elements of astrology that include fire, water, air, and earth. It is believed that these are the elements of life, and that is the reason why they play such an important role in astrology. Each of these elements behaves differently. Understanding the behavior of these elements will throw more light on your nature and life's lessons. Every element carries a group of three signs.

* Earth signs include Capricorn, Taurus and Virgo, and they indicate the body - grounded, sensual, and practical.
* Water signs include Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces, and they indicate the emotions - introverted, nurturing, and imaginative.
* Air signs include Libra, Gemini and Aquarius, and they indicate the mind - conceptual, social, detached, ideas, and intellectual.
* Fire signs include Aries, Leo and Sagittarius, and they indicate the spirit - active, outgoing, instinctual, energy, and inspired.

People with a strong emphasis of the fire element are spontaneous and impulsive, they apply their energies wholeheartedly. Their emotional response is quick and they have a lively imagination.

Fire signs: Aries, Leo and Sagittarius

Airy people are quick and animated. They apply their energies in very diverse ways. They tend to intellectualize their feelings and expectations.

Air signs: Libra, Aquarius, Gemini

People with a strongly emphasized water element are feeling types and are very sensitive. Their imaginative and emotional lives are deep and rich.

Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Earthy people react quietly and slowly. They apply themselves with endurance. Emotionally they are deeply rooted and slow to change.

Earth signs: Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo

Western traditional sources also take into account a fifth element, the 'quinta essentia'. This very simply describes the soul or the spiritual being of a person. It stands apart from the other four elements and is not depicted in the horoscope. This is why it is frequently overlooked. It takes us beyond the doctrine of the four elements and their application in the field of astrology. It hints at the freedom of man and reminds us of the great mystery of the eternal.

Vijay, for information on Vedic Pujas,Numerology Noida Palmistry Noida Palm Reading,Vastu Consultant,Palmistry,Psysic Reader,Tarot, Tarot Reading,Gems Stone Rudraksh,Numerology and Fengshui Remedia.Please visit our site :http://www.planetsandforcast.com/

Report this article Ask About This Article

More to Explore